Continuing education and Professional development

Can anyone elaborate on what continuing education and professional development refer to? I needed additional clarification on what has been addressed in the training material. I mean supported with examples of the mentioned issues. Thanks

Comments

• I need also clarification , different understanding among mentors and assessors ,

• Professional Development

Professional development is a process for developing individual skills and capacities to help professionals gain more knowledge, improve their performance in a given area of expertise, or move up the ladder.

Professional development typically takes place outside of normal work hours- but it’s important that this time doesn’t come at the cost of other aspects like family life, leisure time or sleep. Professionals should always be aware that professional development is there to serve them- not vice versa!

It can take many forms, including training courses offered by trade associations; mentoring from senior professional with different specialties; workshops on various topics such as project management methodology or leadership strategies; and self-directed research into new areas related to professional practice.

Continuing Education

Continuing education on the other hand, is a general term that refers to any type of training or course you can take if you’re a professional. This includes both professional development and continuing education courses. Continuing education is defined as “activities designed specifically for practicing professionals.” Continuing professional education should be applied knowledge: merely taking classes isn’t enough- instead, the learning needs to be applied back into your work environment so that it’s relevant and practical.